Which municipalities require a fire protection technician?

Municipalities throughout the province are benefiting from the program as certified fire protection technicians (RFPTs) are working in those municipalities which have enacted a Bylaw. Even though not all municipalities have as yet introduced a Bylaw to require certified technicians, ASTTBC certified technicians are found in most areas of the province. These technicians and/or their employers believe professional certification adds credibility to their services. Simply stated, they have a marketing edge.

Municipalities that have enacted a Municipal Bylaw and joined the Fire Protection Certification Program include:

  • Abbotsford
  • Bowen Island
  • Burnaby
  • Chilliwack
  • City of North Vancouver
  • Coquitlam
  • Courtenay
  • Creston
  • Fort St. John
  • Hudson’s Hope
  • District of North Vancouver
  • District of West Vancouver
  • Nanaimo
  • Pitt Meadows
  • Port Moody
  • Prince George
  • Richmond
  • Sechelt
  • Squamish
  • Surrey
  • Vancouver
  • Whistler